Student Services

On this page:

Special Education | English Language Learner Master Plan | Student Services Staff


Special Education

Special Education (SPED) is an integral part of the total public school system and provides education in a manner that promotes maximum interaction between students with disabilities and those without disabilities.

Special Education is specially designed instruction which meets the unique needs of individuals with exceptional requirements, whose educational needs cannot be met with modifications to the general education instructional curriculum.  In addition, there are related services which may be needed to assist a student.

For a student to be eligible for special education and related services s/he must meet certain criteria that falls within one of the identified disability areas established by the state of California.  The following list contains those disabilities:  autistic, deaf, deaf/blind, emotionally disturbed, hard of hearing, mental retardation, multiple disabilities, orthopedically impaired, other health impaired, specific learning disability, speech and language disorder, traumatic brain injury and visually impaired. 

When a teacher is concerned about addressing a student’s needs, s/he develops interventions for the child. Curriculum or student behavior might be modified.  If the interventions and modifications are unsuccessful and the student continues to have difficulty a teacher or parent may refer the student to the Student Success Team (SST).  The Team is composed of general education staff.  The SST will develop additional modifications or accommodations for the student.  Modifications and accommodations to the general education program must be documented prior to a referral to Special Education.  If the student is assessed for Special Education, the IEP team determines whether or not the student is eligible for special education and if the student needs special education services. 

All children who are eligible for special education services must have an Individualized Education Program (IEP).  The IEP is a written document that describes the child’s needs and the services that will best meet those needs. 

 

Back to Top

English Language Learner Master Plan

It is the mission of the San Bruno Park School District to implement the following goals:

  • To develop English language proficiency and academic achievement
  • To give English language learners access to the District’s core curriculum
  • To promote cross cultural understanding
  • To engage the English Language (EL) families

The District takes proactive steps to ensure that there is regular consultation between site principals and the existing English Learner advisory Committees (ELACs) and the District English Learner Advisory Committee (DELAC). 

Each school’s compliance with the provisions of the Master Plan is assessed on the following dimensions:

  • Student identification and assessment procedures
  • Redesignation and post-designation procedures
  • Establishment and functioning of meaningful vehicles for parent involvement and feedback
  • Effectiveness of instructional programming
  • Professional development of teachers and staff
  • Appropriateness of and total expenditures on programs and services for English Language students

All English learners are enrolled in Structured English Immersion or English Language Mainstream classrooms with CLAD certified teachers.  Students in grades K-8 receive assistance on a daily basis with their classroom teacher.

The California English Language Development Test (CELDT) is used to determine the English Language Proficiency of students whose primary language is not English.  Students in Kindergarten and first grade are assessed in Listening and Speaking.  Students in grades 2- 8 are assessed in Listening, Speaking, Reading and Writing.  

English language learners are redesignated as fluent English proficient (FEP) after meeting established criteria in academic and classroom performance and standardized testing.

Back to Top

Student Services Staff

Name Position Email Phone
Ellen Merritt Director of Student Services/Special Education emerritt@sbpsd.k12.ca.us 624-3125
Georgia Schiefer Program Secretary Student Services gschiefer@sbpsd.k12.ca.us 624-3114
Dr. Rebecca Lee Psychologist rlee@sbpsd.k12.ca.us 624-3117
Joelle Aud Psychologist jaud@sbpsd.k12.ca.us 624-3116
Alexandra Macy Psychologist amacy@sbpsd.k12.ca.us 624-3115
Dr. Lisa Thorsen-Spano Counselor Lthorsen-spano@sbpsd.k12.ca.us 624-3100
Ashley Waters Counselor awaters@sbpsd.k12.ca.us 624-3100
Norene Goldberg Special Day Class Teacher ngoldberg@sbpsd.k12.ca.us 624-3180
Susan Hilleli Special Educator shillelil@sbpsd.k12.ca.us 624-3180
Iris Clifford Special Educator Iclifford@sbpsd.k12.ca.us 624-3165
Sanjana Jadhav Speech Therapist sjadhav@sbpsd.k12.ca.us 624-3180
Jennifer Guerrero Speech Therapist jguerrero@sbpsd.k12.ca.us 624-3155
Carolyn DeWitt Speech Therapist cdewitt@sbpsd.k12.ca.us 624-3140
Assem Al Tawdi Special Educator aaltawdi@sbpsd.k12.ca.us 624-3160
Pauahi McGinn Preschool Site Supervisor pmcginn@sbpsd.k12.ca.us 624-3155
Lupe Duran Associate Teacher lduran@sbpsd.k12.ca.us 624-3155
Marjorie Felix Site Supervisor mfelix@sbpsd.k12.ca.us 624-3155
Maribel V. Tamez Site Supervisor mtamez@sbpsd.k12.ca.us 624-3155
Olga Ilyin Site Supervisor oilyin@sbpsd.k12.ca.us 624-3155